Breaks Is Latest Recipient Of Mary Openshaw Award

The Mary Openshaw Memorial Award For Excellence was inaugurated at Ireland’s AmEx 2004 in memory of the late Mary Openshaw, the renowned journalist, based in Brussels, Belgium, who served the international amusement industry for over 35 years.

Shane Breaks with some of his<br>vintage carsThe first recipient of the award was Eduardo Antoja, President of Euromat; the second was Mike Nevin, Managing Director of Namco Europe; the third was Hans Rosenzweig, former President of Euromat. It was announced at AmEx 2007 in Dublin on 6 March that the fourth recipient is Shane Breaks!

IAEA (Irish Amusement Equipment Association) Secretary, Martin Dempsey said: „It is appropriate that we are presenting this award to Shane Breaks, as Mary’s career as a trade journalist paralleled Shane’s own successful career in the amusement industry in many ways.“

Shane’s career in the industry started in 1962 with Streets Automatic Machine Co Ltd and continued with Rowe Int USA, RH Belam Corp, Atari Games Corp, Warner Communications Inc / Atari, Namco Europe Ltd, Betson Entertainment, RH Belam and currently Benchmark Games Inc.

From his home in Montpellier, France, Shane said „I have many pleasant memories of travelling with Mary Openshaw; especially taking the early morning Brussels-Milan express through 6 countries for the annual exhibition at Fiera di Milano.

She was at the first big expo in Moscow in 1969 and in Zagreb in 1972. It is a great honour to accept this award in her name.“ The award ceremony will take place later this year.